Exposing the Dark Side of Gambling Addiction
The United Methodist Church Logo


The United Methodist Church

4800 Santana Circle * Columbia, Missouri 65203
telephone: 573-441-1770 * fax: 573-441-1780

Media Advisory

For more information, contact:

Peggy Eshelman, Formation and Social Justice Coordinator, 660-885-8705
Karen Gordy-Panhorst, Communications Coordinator, 573-441-1770

Missouri's church leaders plan gathering at Capital to
voice opposition to legislation to expand gambling

News conference by Missouri church leaders to oppose the expansion of gambling. Representatives from Missouri churches will deliver statements of protest against plan to expand gambling in Missouri.
11 a.m., Tuesday, April 23, Hearing Room 1, State Capitol, Jefferson City
To oppose legislation that would remove Missouri's $500 loss limit at casinos and establish race-track betting.
To oppose the start of Quick Draw Keno in 1200 locations across the state.
"Our common religious roots do not always result in unified conclusions on public policy. But on this issue Missouri's church leaders speak with one voice, pleading with our public leaders to avoid using gambling's easy money as an answer to a budget shortfall", Peggy Eshelman, the event's host and formation and social justice coordinator for the Missouri Area of The United Methodist Church, said.
(Church leaders) Peggy Eshelman, United Methodist Church, representing Ann Brookshire Sherer, resident bishop,
Missouri Area of The United Methodist Church
Doug Madi, pastor, Good Shepherd Presbyterian Church, Lemay
Jeff Schultz, associate pastor, Evangelical Free Church, St. Louis
Sister Ruth Speh, School Sisters of Notre Dame, Lemay
Rev. Harold Hendrick, Christian Civic Foundation, St. Louis
Norman Baxter, representing Dr. Bob Curtis, Missouri Baptist Convention, Jefferson City
Kerry Messer, Christian Life Commission, Missouri Baptist Convention, Jefferson City
Dr. Jack Stone, General Secretary, Church of the Nazarene, Kansas City
David Cheung, pastor, Chinese Gospel Church, Manchester
Dale Whitman, representing Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Columbia
Donald L. Cannon, representing Dr. Michael Peters, pastor, Christ the King Church, St. Louis
Philip Dooley, pastor, Open Door Baptist Church in Columbia
Ying Wong, chairman, Chinese Christian Churches Association, St. Louis,
Rev. Rick Mathes, Mission Gate Prison Ministry, Chesterfield
John Stormer, author, educator, pastor, St. Louis
Bob Sanders, pastor, Arley United Methodist Church, Kearney
Kay Meyer, Family Shield Ministries, St. Louis
Charles J. Funderburk, associate pastor, First Baptist Church, Raytown
John A. Wilson, pastor, West County Assembly of God, St. Louis
Dr. David Vaughan, pastor, Liberty Christian Church, St. Louis
Rev. Mort Whitman, International Students, Inc., St. Louis
Don Combs, pastor, McCarthy Baptist Church, St. Joseph
Doug Cumbie, pastor, Maplewood Baptist Church, Maplewood
Jim Robertson, Christian Care Ministry, Branson
Dr. Woodrow Burt, President, Hannibal-LaGrange College, Hannibal